2014 Reading Recap

It’s once again that time when I look back over my reading goals and see how I did for the year. SPOILER ALERT….I didn’t make my goals for sure but I did make some decent effort so that counts for something, right?

First off let’s take a look at my goals for last year and see how I did:

  1. Read 50 books – I didn’t get close and I have an excuse…life!
  2. Read 15 Non-Fiction books – close but didn’t happen…it will happen next year
  3. Read classics – still didn’t happen and probably won’t in 2015 either so it’s coming off the list of goals

Let’s take a look at some of the stats:

  • Total Books: 28 – 1 more than last year!
  • Non-Fiction: 12
  • Fiction: 16
  • Shortest: None…probably Charis
  • Longest: The Liberator
  • Least Favorite(s): Nothing really stuck out as awful
  • Favorite(s): Charis and The Liberator
  • Average books per week: .53

And now for the actual list:

1. The Chase by DiAnn Mills

2. The Survivor by DiAnn Mills

3. Digitalis by Ronie Kendig

4. Behind the Beautiful Forevers by Katherine Boo

5. When the Smoke Clears by Lynette Eason

6. Fight by Preston Sprinkle

7. David and Goliath by Malcolm Gladwell

8. Unspoken by Dee Henderson

9. The Malacca Conspiracy by Don Brown

10. Damn Few by Rorke Denver

11. Trapped by Irene Hannon

12. Fearless by Eric Blehm

13. Through My Eyes by Tim Tebow

14. Face to Face with Jesus by Samaa Habib

15. Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me by Mindy Khalig

16. Charis by Preston Spinkle

17. For Such a Time by Kate Breslin

18. Undetected by Dee Henderson

19. Submerged by Dani Pettrey

20. Brothers Forever by Tom Manion and Tom Sileo

21. The Liberator by Alex Kershaw

22. Vanished by Irene Hannon

23. No Where to Turn by Lynette Eason

24. Firewall by DiAnn Mills

25. No one to Trust by Lynette Eason

26. Out of Control by Mary Connealy

27. Shattered by Dani Pettrey

28. One Million Steps: A Marine Platoon at War by Bing West

And that’s it. Not as good as I would like, but also not as bad as  I expected. This year threw a few curve balls so that I’ve even read this much is rather amazing. There’s always next year to improve.

Now it’s time for some goals for 2014:

  1. Read 30 books – I want to challenge myself to do better than last year, but still want my goals to be attainable.
  2. Read 20 non-fiction books
  3. Read more books that I don’t necessarily agree with or that challenge my beliefs
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

