Pancakes…the semi healthy way

Since this is one of my favorite recipes that I eat at least once a week (Sunday morning pancakes anyone?), I thought it was time to share. Since January, I have been working very hard to control the amount of sugar and refined foods that I eat, with an emphasis on the sugar. My diet mainly consists of veggies and fruits, with some gluten free rice pasta for fun. My body is super grateful, and the change for me has been amazing. When I first cleaned out my system, the one thing I truly missed were my weekend morning pancakes. Once January was over, I couldn’t quite figure out what to do since I love pancakes, but I knew my body wouldn’t be able to tolerate the crazy amount of sugar that is normally involved – a true dilema! I finally tweaked the original recipe to come up with something that I actually really look forward to eating! Other than the flour involved, it’s actually a healthy recipe and extremely filling. In fact, I usually don’t eat lunch whenever I make these because I’m still so full in the afternoon, which is why I don’t mind the big calorie count to start the day. I orginally used Joy the Baker’s Single Lady Pancakes, but have adapted the recipe to fit my wants and needs.

photoSugar Free Yummy Breakfast Pancakes

1/3 cup flour

1 tablespoon of oats (I prefer Old Fashioned)

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon of baking soda

1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons of oil

1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons of buttermilk

dash of vanilla

1 tablespoon of walnuts

Mix together all ingredients in a small bowl adding the walnut last. Cook just like regular pancakes.

To serve mine I like to slather on some almond butter, slice up a banana, and drizzle with coconut butter and a tiny bit of agave (for the sticky factor).

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast/Brunch

Leave a Reply

