Sweet Potato Taco Packets

Yep you read that right. Sweet potatoes and taco all in the same title. So a few weeks ago I was looking for some new recipes to try for dinner and also looking for some more veggies and tada! I will admit that at first I was a little skeptical and then I started thinking that it didn’t really sound all that bad. With my thinking finally cleared, I decided to jump right in and try it out (The benefit of living alone is that if it is a disaster then no one else ever has to know about it!). Anyways, I went to the store and bought all of the ingredients and proceeded to tell my mom all about it! She promptly displayed her doubts, but I was not to be discouraged.

After my run last week a set to work peeling and cutting potatoes, and filling up my foil packets. I cooked the turkey meat and sprinkled it with taco seasoning. I cut up my potatoes and then sprinkled them with black beans and topped them with the turkey. I finished them off with tomato sauce and started baking. thirty minutes later, I opened one up, sprinkled on some cheese and a dollop of sour cream and dug in. My verdict – yummy! I took pics and then sent them to my mom who also decided she should try out this strange concoction. Her verdict – Yummy too. So here’s a pic and I’ll post the recipe that I used and also a link to the original below.

As for the price of this meal, it’s a wonderful thing to make if you’re on a budget. Here’s the breakdown of what I spent. For my black beans, I used up one that I had already cooked from a bag of dry beans so mine were cheaper, but I’ll price it approx. for canned beans. Also for the potatoes, I’m guessing on the price, but I’m going high so it might actually be cheaper at the store.

Sweet Potatoes (4) = 2.50

Black Beans           =    .75

Tomato Sauce       =   .75

Turkey                   =  4.50

Taco Seasoning    = .75

Total = 9.25 for at least 4 servings if not 5 so between 1.80 – 2.50 per serving

Sweet Potato Taco Packets

Adapted from Tasty Kitchen recipe

1 package of ground turkey

1 package of taco seasoning mix

Sweet potatoes

1 can black beans

1 can tomato sauce

 

Brown turkey meat in pan, drain fat, season with taco seasoning mix.

Cut up potatoes and put into foil packets, top with beans, turkey, and tomato sauce.

Close packets and put on cookie sheet, bake in oven for 20 – 30 minutes at 425 or until the potatoes are tender.

Sprinkle with cheese and sour cream and enjoy!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Main course, vegetables

Leave a Reply

