db: Marquise on Meringue

 The May 2011 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Emma of CookCraftGrow and Jenny of Purple House Dirt. They chose to challenge everyone to make a Chocolate Marquise. The inspiration for this recipe comes from a dessert they prepared at a restaurant in Seattle.

Finally I remember to meet the posting deadline for daring bakers – I’m so proud of myself. This month’s challenge was very interesting. After last month’s mousse adventure I was less than thrilled to see the words “frozen mousse” and even less likely to read the word meringue. I had already said that I did not like the texture of mousse and there is something about meringue that is just a little weird and it’s raw eggs. I am not one of those people who won’t eat raw cookie dough because of the eggs, but I’m not a fan of eating a lot of raw eggs. Anyways, I digress.

The marquise was fairly easy to make although if I didn’t have a stand mixer I would have been very upset while trying to make this dessert. The caramel sauce and spicy nuts were also pretty straightforward as was the meringue. No big problems or surprises throughout the process which is always a good thing. I used a recipe for 1/4 of the original amount and I can’t imagine how much I would have had if I’d made the whole recipe. I would have run out of freezer space for sure and we would be eating marquise of months. Having said that though, if you need and inexpensive dessert that looks fancy and can be stretched to serve a crowd then this might be your go-to recipe for a warm weather dinner party.

After making my meringue, I plated 2 little pillows on a plate and pulled out my handy torch. I now think I could make baked alaska, but that is for another time and place. I drizzled my torched meringue with caramel sauce and placed a few of my sugared pecans on top. I then cut into my marquise, coated in cocoa powder and placed it on top of my meringue pillows. To finish it off I topped it with another pecan. I knew for sure that even if it didn’t taste good it sure did look pretty. After my first bite I must say I was pleasantly surprised. It was an extrememly rich dessert without being to sugary sweet or heavy on the stomach. And the meringue underneath was almost marshmalloy like goodness which helped cut the sweetness of the dessert.

So all and all a good challenge month and with the leftover marquise, we enjoyed a marquise and graham cracker sandwich the following night. I’m even thinking of toasting a marshmallow and making a “summer smore” !

Frozen marquise thawing so that I could cut it.
Plate before adding the marquise.
With the marquise
The humble beginnings of the “summer smore”

Leave a comment

Filed under Chocolate, Daring Bakers

Leave a Reply

