db: Crostata

Definitely just realized that the reveal date came and went I never posted about my crostata. I was excited about this month’s challenge as soon as a I read it on the first of the month. I had originally planned on making a crostata con la crema, but I just ran out of time to make some crema and ended up making a apple crostata with salted butter caramel sauce. Yummy!

The only thing we were required to make according to the recipe was the crostata dough. I was a little skeptical that it would be too sweet or lemony flavored, but it was neither or those things. It was a little tougher than I was hoping, so I’m not sure if I did something wrong or if that was just the nature of the dough. I definitely prefer a softer, flakier crust. This crostata crust reminded me a shortbread dough more than anything.

For my filling I used fresh sliced Honeycrisp apples and tossed them in cinnamon sugar. I then made a rustic looking crust because my tart pan was not deep enough and because I was in a hurry. After baking, I served my crostata with salted butter caramel sauce.

Overall, I liked this challenge more than some of the others, but I wouldn’t call it my favorite to date. In fact one of my taste testers said “It was good, but just not as good as the bombe.”

Anyways, photos coming later tonight!

Leave a comment

Filed under Daring Bakers, Fruits, Pies, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

