db: Doughnuts

The October 2010 Daring Bakers challenge was hosted by Lori of Butter Me Up. Lori chose to challenge DBers to make doughnuts. She used several sources for her recipes including Alton Brown, Nancy Silverton, Kate Neumann and Epicurious.

I love me some homemade doughnuts so I was excited for this months challenge. I decided to go with the cake doughnuts to start with and nearly quit during the process. My batter never came together and was a nasty sticky mess the entire time. After much frustration and flour, they finally thickened up and I was able to work with the dough. While my dough nuts looked ok I was not happy with the texture or the taste. I thought they were more the consistency of bagels and they were kind of bland tasting. I still want to try cake doughnuts, but I think I’ll keep looking for another recipe.

The next thing I tried was the Alton Brown yeast doughnut, but I didsubstitute butter for crisco. The dough came together, but was really liquidy which worried me. After rising like a champion though, it ended up being the perfect consistency. The doughnuts themselves were good, but not my favorite. I think after hearing some many rave reviews I was expecting greatness and compared to the other reicpe I’ve used before I just didn’t think they lived up to the hype. They weren’t bad at all, just not quite what I was looking for. I chose to make mine a bacon maple flavor, I made a maple glaze and fried little strips of bacon to put on top. After a few curious stares from my taste testers, they all got eaten up.

Overall I thought this was a good challenge and for the most part pretty fun. I’m looking forward to see what is coming next month.

P.S. I don’t have any photos out because my camera and my computer are apparently in a small disagreement right now. Once I figure out how to reconcile them to each other I’ll post a few photos.

 

My cinnamon sugar doughnut/bagel things!

My yeast maple bacon doughnuts!Sweet and salty...yummy

Sweet and salty...yummy

Leave a comment

Filed under Breads, Breakfast/Brunch, Daring Bakers

Leave a Reply

