Moon Pie Owls

Once again I have been remiss in my blogging duties. I mistakenly thought that if I could just write one post then the others would just come bursting forth from somewhere – alas they did not. I think I might be experiencing that issue called writers block, but I’m not really sure since I’ve never really been enough of a writer for anything to get blocked out. On top of that I got a little bit busier. I traveled to an economics conference with some high school students, I’ve watched my share of football, I’ve volunteered to be an Upward basketball coach, I’ve applied for some jobs, I’ve worked, and I made a cake for my cousin’s 16th birthday (picture coming soon!). Oh and let’s not forget all the couponing and Publix shopping!

Anyways, a few weeks ago I made these cute little moon pie owls for some people. I saw them in Southern Living and decided that I had to recreate them. They were so cute! I will definitely be making them again because every kid that got one loved them.

I think they are pretty self explanatory on how to put them together and what ingredients to use.  For the edible glue I melted an ounce of chocolate with a little butter mixed in and then used a popsicle stick to apply to the moon pie. Let me know if you have any questions about them – Oh I also think you could probably use this design and get a turkey from it if you put candy corns in the top like feathers.

How cute is this little guy.

All hanging out and drying.

I love the little crooked noses.

I'm pretty sure that individually wrapping them increased the cute factor.

2 Comments

Filed under Chocolate, holidays

2 responses to “Moon Pie Owls

  1. caroline

    absolutely precious! So cute! If only I loved cooking… hmm maybe I will try this during break! 🙂

  2. mylifebydesign

    these are ADORABLE. end of story…and yes the individually wrapped increases the cute factor everytime!

Leave a Reply

