A long time coming.

The other day I was on the phone with someone and they mentioned needing to check my blog to see my final cake I did back when I was in cake decorating classed. I dawned on my that I had not actually ever posted my final cake and that I needed to do so. So late as it may be I present to you the process of making fondant roses, covering a cake with rolled fondant, and the final presentation. Enjoy!

Me working with all my tools. This process involves a lot of rolling, cookie cuttering, and feathering. Oh and don't forget the painting and molding too!

Me working with all my tools. This process involves a lot of rolling, cookie cuttering, and feathering. Oh and don't forget the painting and molding too!

Step 1: Roll to desired thickness and size. There is actually a math formula that tells you how large to roll the fondant so that you make sure to actually cover the entire cake.

Step 1: Roll to desired thickness and size. There is actually a math formula that tells you how large to roll the fondant so that you make sure to actually cover the entire cake.

Step 2: Flip icing over the top of cake, while letting your mother photograph you while wearing your worst pjs.

Step 2: Flip icing over the top of cake, while letting your mother photograph you while wearing your worst pjs.

Step 3: Peel back the rolling mat.

Step 3: Peel back the rolling mat.

Step 4: Smooth.

Step 4: Smooth.

Step 5: Smooth and stretch down the sides.

Step 5: Smooth and stretch down the sides.

Step 6: Trim off excess.

Step 6: Trim off excess.

Not really a step, just a little extra bonus view of the bottom.

Not really a step, just a little extra bonus view of the bottom.

Step 7: The final product. A nice smooth cake.

Step 7: The final product. A nice smooth cake.

The final cake

The final cake

A close up - yes there are 40 handmade flowers on that cake and yes the cost of a professional cake is actually acurate.

A close up - yes there are 40 handmade flowers on that cake and yes the cost of a professional cake is actually acurate.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A long time coming.

Leave a Reply

