Sweet (Not Southern) Cornbread

This week for the BBA Challenge, I baked cornbread. This cornbread was very moist, very sweet, and relatively easy to make. While Mr. Reinhart offers countless praises to this bread and many ties to Thanksgiving, I found that it does not conjure up those moments for me. Since I am from the South, I would say that while this bread was veyr good, I won’t be making this at Thanksgiving or Christmas for fear of being laughed out of the house and loosing my privilages to eat cornbread dressing. Maybe if I disguised it as sweet a sweet corn cassarole I might be allowed to pass it off in the food line, but I think I will just sticky to our regular palate and keep this (corn)bread under wraps here in our house.

Cornmeal and buttermilk soaker that is mixed up the night before.

Cornmeal and buttermilk soaker that is mixed up the night before.

flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and a little bit of salt

flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and a little bit of salt

eggs

eggs

honey and melted butter

honey and melted butter

honey, butter, and eggs

honey, butter, and eggs

honey, butter, and eggs mixed with the cornmeal soaker

honey, butter, and eggs mixed with the cornmeal soaker

The final batter all mixed together.

The final batter all mixed together.

nice and crispy

nice and crispy

Be on the lookout for Cinnamon Raisin Bread this week.

Leave a comment

Filed under Breads

Leave a Reply

