Cinnamon Rolls or Sticky Buns…

…that is the question. Last week my BBA challenge gave me the option of doing either cinnamon rolls or sticky buns. I prefer cinnamon rolls – my dad prefers sticky buns. Being the loving and kind person that I am I decided to make a few of both and boy am I glad I did.  Up till this point in my life I have only eaten one sticky bun and it was mediocre so naturally I gravitated toward cinnamon rolls. I can safely say that after last week I may have been converted to the sticky bun club. These were AMAZING.  I think we all could have eaten an entire batch (not that we actually would or anything crazy like that!), but we all exercised adult restraint and withheld.

So I know that according to my own self imposed time table I am late! I do however have a good excuse so please let me explain. I made these late in the week to take on a camping trip with us. It was also very hot last week and people who know me well are aware that I like cooler weather.  I was in a foul mood about the weather and therefore could not blog (no bloggy inspiration in me).  On Friday we left for our camping trip – it was HOT. I don’t like hot weather, I was already feeling sad about no fall weather, and it was crazy hot at the camp ground. I dealt pretty well until it was time to go to bed. I think I maybe slept an hour and that was just from pure exhaustion. I was so miserable. On Saturday we played until it rained (I don’t know that I have ever been so grateful for rain) and then we played some more – there was also plenty of rain songs sung. Anyways, that night as I lay in my little tent getting splashed my random rain drops because I had to leave my window open to get air, I prayed that God would either deliver me from the heat and take me or change the weather. He changed the weather and boy am I glad – talk about answered prayers. Reciting the story it seems silly, but on Saturday night when I prayed it I was very serious. I guess it will serve as my reminder for a while that God does still listen and answer our prayers and that he cares and wants the best for us. Oh and I guess it is also something for me to hold on to that he must have a purpose for me here on earth since he went with option 2 instead of option 1.

So onto pictures of the bread. I must confess that there are no pics of the finished cinnamon rolls simply because I didn’t get a chance to take one before we left the house and I had other issues to contend with while camping – such as a crazy squirrel trying to eat thru one of my favorite little tupperwares to get to my cheesecake swirled brownies (which I hope to post about later this week).

Mixing up the dough - there is no preferment so this one only takes a day.

Mixing up the dough - there is no preferment so this one only takes a day.

sticky sticky sticky

sticky sticky sticky

Getting ready for the first rise.

Getting ready for the first rise.

Afer a couple of hours -  this dough had some serious rise!

Afer a couple of hours - this dough had some serious rise!

Rolled out in a semi rectangular shape. Geometrey was never really my thing.

Rolled out in a semi rectangular shape and spread with butter. Geometrey was never really my thing.

I did deviate a bit at this point because I spread a thin layer of butter over the dough and then sprinkled on the cinnamon sugar filling.

I did deviate a bit at this point because I spread a thin layer of butter over the dough and then sprinkled on the cinnamon sugar filling.

Waiting to be sliced.

Waiting to be sliced.

This is what makes the sticky buns into well sticky buns. You mix butter, brown sugar, and corn syrup and spread it all over the bottom of the pan. I choose to sprinkle on some pecans for good measure and if you really wanted to you could even add raisins or craisins.

This is what makes the sticky buns into well sticky buns. You mix butter, brown sugar, and corn syrup and spread it all over the bottom of the pan. I choose to sprinkle on some pecans for good measure and if you really wanted to you could even add raisins or craisins.

Getting ready for their last little rise before baking time.

Getting ready for their last little rise before baking time.

Right out of the oven - check out that oven spring.

Right out of the oven - check out that oven spring.

Since sticky buns are technically baked upside down I had to turn them right side up for their unveiling.

Since sticky buns are technically baked upside down I had to turn them right side up for their unveiling.

Aaaaahhhhh don't they look yummy?

Aaaaahhhhh don't they look yummy?

I'll let you in on a little secret...they were yummy.

I'll let you in on a little secret...they were yummy.

So there you have the sticky buns. Cinnamon rolls are made the same way they are just cooked without the butter/sugar mixture on the bottom and they have a simple white icing drizzled over them. On thing I should note is that I did deviate from the original recipe because it called for lemon flavoring. We don’t really care for lots of lemon flavoring and after reading other people’s comments about the lemony taste of their buns I decided to substitute vanilla instead.

This week’s bread is supposed to be cinnamon raisin swirl bread, but I am skipping to next week’s corn bread instead to go with our hambone soup. I will come back to the cinnamon raising swirl next week.

1 Comment

Filed under Breads, Breakfast/Brunch

One response to “Cinnamon Rolls or Sticky Buns…

  1. mylifebydesign

    girl…these were oh so good…I didn’t try the sticky buns so I am thinking about making them again and incorporating some sticky bun action. The cinnamon rolls were sinful they were so good. I used an orange icing mmmmm…..oh and likely story with the squirrel attacking your brownies 🙂 haha….I just want you to know I have an ongoing list for stuff i want to bake – including carrotcake cupcakes lol

Leave a Reply

