I love truffles.

I’m a little late on this recipe, but I guess better late than never. When C and K came to visit last month K brought some recipes with her to try out. Among those were multiple reicpes for truffles. We choose to make hazelnut truffles because we were able to locate some hazelnuts, which are not native to the south and are kind of hard to come by here.

Anyways, we found some hazelnuts and since you can get hazelnut liquor, we decided to make the truffles. However, we forgot to go to the liquor store before it closed. I my own defense I am used to living in a college town and was beyond shocked to learn that in Alabama not only does the State sell the liquor, they close at “normal business hours.” This left us in a bit of a predicament and wondering what to do. Our final idea – go to the bar and ask for a shot! C and I went into the local bar and I informed that bartender that I would like to buy the smallest amount of Frangelico that he could sell me. After looking at me like I lost my mind I kindly explained that we needed a tablespoon for some truffles, but I would kindly take a shot if that was the smallest amount available. After assuring the bartender of my intent, and with a promise to bring him a truffle C and I left the bar with a shot in hand. Oh and as for the flimsy agreement the bartender and I had, we did take him a truffle the next night much to his enjoyment.

Here is the recipe adapated from Eggs of Sunday:

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz of good quality bittersweet chocolate, chopped
  • 8 oz of good quality milk chocolate, chopped (We actually tweaked the recipe at this point and used – 4 oz semisweet, 4 oz white, and 8 oz bittersweet.)
  • 8 oz (1 cup) heavy cream
  • 1 tablespoon Frangelico or hazelnut flavoring (we used a whole shot – I didn’t think 1 tablespoon gave a strong enough flavor)
  • chopped hazelnuts; for coating

Directions:

  1. Chop the chocolate and place in heatproof bowl.
  2. In a saucepan bring the cream to a bowl.
  3. Once it begins to bowl stir in the hazelnut and pour the warm cream over the chocolate. Let the mixture sit for about 5 minutes.
  4. Stir the chocolate cream mixture until it is smooth and then place it in the fridge for about 3 hours or until the ganache is firm, but scoopable.
  5. After 3 hours, scoop 1 inch balls of ganache and place them on a cookie sheet lined with parchment and chill overnight.
  6. The next day roll each truffle in hazelnuts (or cocoa powder or other topping)

This recipe makes approx 32 truffles.

Here are some picture for you to enjoy so let me know if you have any questions.

Our mise en place - including our shot glass!

Our mise en place - including our shot glass!

All the chopped chocolate waiting to be made into truffles.

All the chopped chocolate waiting to be made into truffles.

The ulu knife that we used to cut the chocolate.

The ulu knife that we used to cut the chocolate.

Bringing the cream to a boil.

Bringing the cream to a boil.

Frangelico

Frangelico

Melting the chocolate.

Melting the chocolate.

All getting ready for a little fridge time.

All getting ready for a little fridge time.

Lookin good.

Lookin good.

Our very first truffle that we delivered to the bar!

Our very first truffle that we delivered to the bar!

Toasting our hazelnuts

Toasting our hazelnuts

Decorating with hazelnuts and coconut - notice the use of red and pink.

Decorating with hazelnuts and coconut - notice the use of red and pink.

The three different truffles.

The three different truffles.

All the hazelnuts.

All the hazelnuts.

Please notice C's creation that just happens to stick out like a sore thumb.

Please notice C's creation that just happens to stick out like a sore thumb.

3 Comments

Filed under Chocolate

3 responses to “I love truffles.

  1. my mouth is watering! I LOVE TRUFFLES! and i’ve always wanted to make them but didn’t know how! I saw one time on Take-Home Chef how to do them and it looks so easy…of course it helps to have a british accent! yay! i’m def trying this recipe!

  2. mylifebydesign

    umm still bitter about that one truffle…*ahem…caroline.

  3. Pingback: A quick one « Culinary Conversations

Leave a Reply

