Casatiello

Casatiello is the next bread in my BBA challenge. I will think of this as my drama bread. After a rough start to the morning and a few missing ingredients, and general grief later I have the loaves. As of writing, I can’t really tell you much about the bread. See I am leaving to go to a wedding out in Oregon this weekend and a little R&R so I won’t be able to write this post later this week. Since my faithful following (a shoutout to you all) expects a bread a week I felt the need to make time to bake and blog before I leave. However, in a moment of blogging genius I thought that I would write the post early and then I could post while out of town and you wouldn’t be forced to wait all week long to hear from me.

So here’s what I know so far:

  • I’m not a huge meat fan so this may not be my favorite.
  • This is not a breakfast bread – this is a big negative since I like bread in the morning.
  • Apparently while reheating some Chinese takeout there was a sauce spillage on the oven floor and it is now burning itself off so instead of smelling bread all I can smell is charred Chinese food.
  • The dough reminded me of brioche a little, but not anywhere near as sticky.
  • The bread contains gouda cheese – I love me some gouda.
  • I will be glad when this drama bread is finished and I can return to easy drama-free bread baking.

Anyways, here are some pictures – a few of the same old stuff like sponges and dough and proofing. As usual, if you want the recipe just let me know and I can get it to you.

The beginnings of the sponge.

The beginnings of the sponge.

Crispy-ing up the summer sausage.

Crispy-ing up the summer sausage.

Post-fermented sponge.

Post-fermented sponge.

Getting ready to mix the rest of the ingredients together with the sponge.

Getting ready to mix the rest of the ingredients together with the sponge.

The weekly action shot.

The weekly action shot.

Mixed and getting ready to rise.

Mixed and getting ready to rise.

Divided dough getting ready for the final rise.

Divided dough getting ready for the final rise.

DSC00522

A nicely golden loaf. To the credit of the casatiello this was actually a very good bread and we enjoyed as a nice side to salads.

A nicely golden loaf. To the credit of the casatiello this was actually a very good bread and we enjoyed as a nice side to salads.

1 Comment

Filed under Breads

One response to “Casatiello

  1. that one pic of the dough standing on it’s behind looks like a turkey without a head, standing on it’s behind. Gouda…rent “she’s the man” with amanda bynes…Great Gouda joke.

    this bread looks interesting fo sho!

Leave a Reply

