Brioche

I know I say this after every bread, but brioche is my favorite (at least for a week). I have actually made the brioche a couple of times since I bought BBA and when I make it everyone eats a slice of two and then we make stuffed french toast with it.

I made this bread while the girls were in town and C kept referring to it as sin bread because of how sinfully delicious it is.  There are three different recipes: rich man’s, middle class, and poor man’s. I always make the middle class brioche and I don’t know that I will ever have a need to try out the other recipes. I’m not sure, but I think the rich man’s brioche would be too rich (I know this is almost a blasphmeous statement where butter is concerned).

The recipe is very easy and basic and Peter Reinhart recommends using a mixer because of how sticky this dough is. It is basically made with a sponge which ferments about 20 -40 minutes, and then you mix the rest of the dough and let it sit overnight in the fridge. In the morning you take it out, form it into your chosen shape, and then let is sit a while longer. A little egg wash (cream works too if your are out of egg) and another sitting spell later brioche is ready to be baked.

While I know all bread is supposed to sit about an hour once you remove it from the oven, it is almost impossible to keep everyone out of this loaf while it is warm, and to be honest with a little strawberry honey butter I don’t think this can be beat.

The beginnings of the sponge.

The beginnings of the sponge.

The sponge with a little gas after 45 minutes.

The sponge with a little gas after 45 minutes.

Mixing in the rest of the flour and yeast.

Mixing in the rest of the flour and yeast.

Mixing in all the butter

Mixing in all the butter

Brioche dough getting ready to ferment overnight in the fridge.

Brioche dough getting ready to ferment overnight in the fridge.

Loaves getting ready for the first rise.

Loaves getting ready for the first rise.

After the first rise.

After the first rise.

Getting an egg wash and preparing to have a final rise.

Getting an egg wash and preparing to have a final rise.

Look at how beautiful and golden this loaf turned out.

Look at how beautiful and golden this loaf turned out.

Look at the inside and how pretty it is.

Look at the inside and how pretty it is.

As usual if you want the recipe  then let me know and in the mean time be on the lookout for the stuffed brioche french toast recipe.

Leave a comment

Filed under Breads

Leave a Reply

