Bread Baker’s Apprentice

So in the food blogging world there has been a bread baking challenge going on for the last 3 months or so. I wanted to do it when it started but I didn’t have the right book or the kitchen or the time given that I was preparing a business plan and trying to graduate. Krista and I started talking about the BBA challenge and how we wanted to get involved so we both bought the book and read all about bread. When I say read I definitely mean like 100 pages or so about flour and kneading and rising and fermentation and all other things fresh baked bread. Although we got a late start we have decided to bake through from the beginning of the book instead of just starting in the middle where the oringinal group of bakers is at. I did get a little out of order, but I won’t be sharing my first recipe until later. Unlike other recipes, I won’t be posting the orginal recipe because I am getting it out of a book and I don’t think Peter Reinhart who wrote it would be appreciative. It is a quality book and I would hate to post his hard work. However, if you would like a specific bread recipe then just let me know and I will be happy to send that one to you.

So for the first week I baked Anadama bread. The story behind the bread is that back in the day a man’t wife left him and all she left behind was some flour and molassas. He angrily threw the two ingredients together and said “Anna damn her.” The name was eventually shortened to Anadama and here I am today starting with this bread.

This recipe was fairly easy and is quite scrumptious. It makes wonderful toast with peanut butter is is paired nicely with Tazo Awake tea. Anyways I digress…

Cornmeal soaker - I mixed this up on day 1 and let it sit overnight.

Cornmeal soaker - I mixed this up on day 1 and let it sit overnight.

The begiinings of the sponge

The begiinings of the sponge

The sponge after 90 minutes...it was bubbly and had little gas bubbles that kept bursting.

The sponge after 90 minutes...it was bubbly and had little gas bubbles that kept bursting.

I cheat and use the dough hook to knead..I don't have enough counter space to hand knead.

I cheat and use the dough hook to knead..I don't have enough counter space to hand knead.

I left my rising dough unattended and let it rise for an extra 30 minutes or so...I came home to his mutant dough!

I left my rising dough unattended and let it rise for an extra 30 minutes or so...I came home to his mutant dough!

Finished yummy loaves of bread

Finished yummy loaves of bread

Next week is Greek Celebration Bread…I’m celebrating my friend’s upcoming visit!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Bread Baker’s Apprentice

  1. mylifebydesign

    yay for anadama bread! i will be making this this weekend!

  2. I am using my hands to sweep the cuss off the bread…u know how i hate ppl cussing near my food…*wink*

  3. Cindy

    ….and I watched! The bread was yummy! So was the first one about which she has chosen to remain silent.

Leave a Reply

