Cake Decorating 101

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything – I just haven’t been inspired to write lately so I felt it time for an update. Most people know that I’ve moved back home for now and I decided to use my time to take a cake decorating class. Cake decorating is not for the faint of heart let me tell you. It is tiring and tedious work, but it’s so much fun to be able to look at your creations when you are all done.  It also takes a crazy amount of supplies and lots of arm muscles! I’ve learned that I don’t like decorators icing and when I have a wedding cake one day I can assure you that I will be using real buttercream much a decorators dismay! Anyways, here are some pictures of cakes that I have made during June and a few answers to some questions  I received in a phone message the other day.

Week 1:

You don’t make anything week 1. It’s the easy week and doesn’t prepare you for the next 3 in my opinion. We learned how to make decorators icing and how to ice a cake – no easy feat I assure you. You also learn that you don’t need any special reason to make a cake although I consider it helpful (answer numero uno for friendly question). All this to say sorry no pictures.

Week 2:

For week 2 your are supposed to bring an 8in iced cake to class. I made 2 cakes for week 2 due to some technical difficulties, namely disinegrating cake. While the other two household residents claim it must have been bad luck and terrible quality cake pans, I think there may have been a case of sabotage. However, I digress. During class we learn how to write with icing, make polka dots (I perfected this for you Krista), pipe stars (I love stars), and what is called a piping gel transfer.

Piping gel transfer is when you either draw or trace any image and then put is on your cake as a guide for were to use your icing. We transfered a rainbow onto our cakes and then filled it with stars. I also made mine for a friend who was having a birthday – I know adults feel special when they get their own personalized rainbow birthday cake – I would at least! Here are some pictures for your viewing pleasure.

The clouds are my favorite

The clouds are my favorite

Week 3:

Week 3 was my favorite because

a. We could bring cupcakes and didn’t have to ice a full size cake.

b. We learned figure piping – which I loved

c. I got to make a monogramed cupcake (In Krista-ees it was presh)

Enjoy the pictures!

This was supposed to be a clown except that there were no clown heads in town so we had to make do - I think it looks like a prison inmate. What do you think?

This was supposed to be a clown except that there were no clown heads in town so we had to make do - I think it looks like a prison inmate. What do you think?

This was supposed to be an elephant when I started but I ran out of icing and room so I started making it into a cat. As you can see it isn't very cat like though. Everyone in class laughed at it and then we decided it was a hairless dog!

This was supposed to be an elephant when I started but I ran out of icing and room so I started making it into a cat. As you can see it isn't very cat like though. Everyone in class laughed at it and then we decided it was a hairless dog!

Monogram!

Monogram!

This is my family - my dad doesn't actually have a beard but it was the only way to make sure everyone knew which one was the man.

This is my family - my dad doesn't actually have a beard but it was the only way to make sure everyone knew which one was the man.

Week 4:

This is the week of the cursed rose. This rose is crazy hard to make and if you are a perfectionists then it can drive you crazy. Once you learn though they are very pretty. Please ignor the writing on the cake – it was part of a joke and not actually part of the design. Oh and check out that bow – I love icing bows.

The rose cake - I got tired and didn't add a border on the top

The rose cake - I got tired and didn't add a border on the top

Roses - my stems could use some work

Roses - my stems could use some work

My bottom border...stars and polka dots

My bottom border...stars and polka dots

I start course 3 next week its tiered cakes and fondant icing. I’m excited.

2 Comments

Filed under cake decorating

2 responses to “Cake Decorating 101

  1. mylifebydesign

    oh my!! i’ve been waiting weeks for this blog haha. LOVE THE MONOGRAM and the polka dots..I look forward to learning things from you miss courtney (esp. when we come down to visit 🙂

    the cupcakes are all adorable

  2. so exciting. now do you have to put the icing on the cake thing? i used to watch this man..Uncle Cake man, at a bakery in M’sia. He is SOOO good and putting on icing on the cake and then decorating…ridiculous. oh ps, my fave is the elephant-cat. i can soooo see the elephant…it just has pootstains and some dookie on its bottom. no big deal. also, u should make a cake for EVAN KASPARZK with stars and honey…or dancing shoes and a top hat. holla! love u and miss u and thanks for answering my voicemail questions. i have been pondering them over the past few weeks.

Leave a Reply

