Driving in the south can be entertaining…

So on my nice little Sunday drive from Savannah to Spartanburg I saw some really interesting things. Normally I would dread driving on I-95 but today was a definite exception. The fun started with a billboard advertising a Rattlesnake Round-up as family friendly entertainment. I mean what soccer mom doesn’t pack the kids in the minivan and head out to see the snakes?

Before I tell you the next thing I would like to say that people having stuffed animals in their cars is normal. Back when the Jolleys lived in F’hope Mrs. Susan used to have a little seal family in the back window, I have an inchworm named william on my rearview mirror and I’ve seen countless people with our animals such as a Moo cow and a tiger of the Auburn persuasion. Anyways, I’m driving down the road minding my own business when suddenly this car pulls up beside me a collection of stuffed animal pigs…on the dashboard. Mind you this wasn’t one pig – oh no it was about 15 pigs. Amazing.

Also of interest was the unusually large number of dead animals and the dead deer laying flat on it’s back with all four legs straight up in the air. A most unusual site for a dead deer on the side of the road. And of course there was always the unique people to look at every now and then. One last thing…I don’t care who you are or who you think you are driving a car without a shirt on while using public roadways in not ok. Under no circumstance is this acceptable. If you want to drive circles in your backyard while not wearing a shirt go ahead, but please people put on some clothes while using public roads.

So in all it was a decent little Sunday afternoon drive although I did get a sunburn on only one arm, which is the pesky little thing about having to do all the driving. I mean if someone else is with you at least you can switch sides of the car and work on getting sunburned on the other arm.

5 Comments

Filed under Jolley Adventures

5 responses to “Driving in the south can be entertaining…

  1. Cindy

    Your drive was 1/2 as long but twice as exciting! We didn’t see any interesting sites. I’m glad you took it easy on the NC friends about the seal family! And don’t forget the infamous over sized stuffed dice hanging from the rearview mirror- another southern tradition.

  2. mylifebydesign

    haha….that other arm is lacking in some sun!!

Leave a Reply

